Saturday, June 13, 2015

BOOK SPOTLIGHT: Accidentally in Love by Laura Drewry @lauradrewry #Giveaway #ContemporaryRomance



Accidentally In Love
Friends First # 3
By: Laura Drewry
Releasing June 16, 2015
Loveswept


Blurb
Fans of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery will love Laura Drewry’s warm and humorous new Friends First romance, a sexy romp about a good cop and a bad girl playing hard to get.

Ellie Palmer and cops don’t mix, and getting pulled over by Officer Brett Hale—again—doesn’t help. Neither does being forced to take a safe-driving course with him. Brett’s by-the-book attitude leaves Ellie ice-cold, and his rock-hard body won’t change that. Still, the more time she spends with the guy, the more she finds herself warming up to his unexpected charms.

Even though Brett comes off like a boy scout, Ellie has sparked something he wants badly enough to get him to rethink his past mistakes. But when her ex shows up, Brett makes it his mission to keep Ellie safe in the here and now. His gut tells him the guy’s trouble, and Ellie must agree, because she doesn’t complain when Brett pulls her close. To keep her safe, though, he’ll have to choose between breaking her heart . . . and breaking the rules.



Goodreads Link:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23636585-accidentally-in-love?from_search=true

Goodreads Series Link: https://www.goodreads.com/series/143634-friends-first




Brett got to the field early and pulled his truck in beside Nick’s, barely closing the door before Nick tossed one of the bases at him. After catching it in midstride, Brett left his glove inside the dugout and followed Nick to the baseline.
“Heard you were making friends with Ellie again today.” Nick snorted out a laugh and shook his head as he walked the measuring tape down the line. “If I were you, I’d keep an eye out for a ball to the back of the head tonight.”
Brett just shrugged. What happened while he was on shift was nobody’s business. He wouldn’t talk about Ellie and her driving record any more than he’d talk about the domestic call he’d been coming from when he pulled her over.
After Nick measured out the distance from first, Brett dropped second base into place, took the hammer from Nick, and pounded the stake through the loop.
“You don’t think this’ll cause problems with the team, do you?”
“Nah, it’ll be fine.” Nick was already heading over to third, chuckling as he walked. “She’s —Hey, look who’s here.”
Nick’s cousin, Carter, came strolling onto the diamond, his arm wrapped around Regan’s shoulders, a deep blush covering her face, a huge grin covering his, and both looking a little disheveled.
“God’s sake, you two.” Ellie’s friend Maya pushed through the gate behind them, shaking her blond head. “Can’t you even go five minutes without groping each other?”
“Red just can’t seem to keep her hands off me.” Pulling Regan in closer, Carter kissed the side of her head and laughed. “Not that I’m complaining.”
The rest of the team wandered onto the field, but there was no sign of Ellie. Maybe she’d decided not to—
There she was.
Dressed in tight black baseball pants and a gray T-shirt with navy sleeves, she raced up to the field on a black mountain bike. While it was still in motion, she jumped off and left it standing against the bleachers, her helmet dangling from the handlebar.
It amazed him, as it did every time he saw her, how good she looked in everything she wore. Hell, she could make a burlap sack look like something out of a Victoria’s Secret catalog.
He didn’t let his gaze linger very long. He never did, never needed to, because he already had the image memorized. And besides, Jayne broke the spell the second she saw Ellie arrive and ran in her direction.
Their voices followed him out to the field, but thankfully not a single word was mentioned about her license mishap. Instead, if what he was hearing was right, it sounded like Ellie had unexpected company. Male company or female company? Not that it was any of his business.
A “she.” Hmmm. Her sister maybe? Wait . . . no . . . her mother.
Unexpected visits from parents usually meant one of two things: something was wrong or something was about to be wrong.
“Okay,” Nick called out, lifting his gloved hand toward the darkening clouds. “Let’s get going before the rain starts again. Quick warm-up then let’s have Carter pitching, Jayne catching, Ellie first, Leon second, Brett short, Delmar third, Maya right, Martin center, Kyle roving, and I’ll take left. The rest can bat. Oh, and Ellie—you’re down for the first case of beer.”
Brett jogged over to his position, pulled his cap down a little, and took stock of the players around him. Leon and Delmar looked relaxed on their bases, no question they’d played before, but there was no way Ellie was going to be able to play first properly with that stiff new glove and those shiny new cleats.

He knew she’d played a little before, and she might look the part, especially after she tucked her long hair through the back of that faded blue ball cap. Looking the part, however, was a whole lot different than actually being able to play the position, and first base was crucial for a winning team, beer league or not.

Buy Links:  Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo 

Author Info
Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.

Author Links:   Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads



Rafflecopter Giveaway (Loveswept Mug, Flirt Mug and Select Ebook Bundle)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

Laura Drewry said...

Thank you for hosting us this morning! I really appreciate it and hope you're having a great weekend! :)

Cheers

Laura